We are committed in the search of peace, democracy and human rights through culture (theater, poetry, music and traditional dances) and through our program "Kesho Kongo speaks to you". We help create peace in the Great Lakes Region (Congo, Rwanda, and Burundi) by theatre: watch this interview from Honolulu (Hawaï, USA):

 

Above: Reproduction of the play "Lion King" (cartoon adapted by the Kesho Kongo cultural group). Lesson transmitted to the people: always take life on the right side (invitation of our people to resilience). The funds collected were injected into our project to combat child malnutrition in South Kivu


Civic and electoral education session for young people, forum implemented by Kesho Kongo and funded by Counterpart International in collaboration with USAID and UKAID (24 January 2018 in Ciriri).

Above: Forum participants.
Trainer: Pius Bikungu from the Independent National Electoral Commission / South Kivu.

 

Below: forum facilitators.
Moderator: Samson Rutakangwa, Action Sociale Kesho Kongo’ Coordinator.

 

We also support 7 primary schools of forgotten villages: Lugala, Ikumbana, Kagabi, Ibere, Bwirembe, Kahuliza and Bushushu.

Above: Mubeshe primary school in Lugala, 60 pupils, 4 classrooms and 4 teachers and 1 director. This school needs to be built with dignity.

 

In the same way, we support young people in vocational training within the frame of apprenticeship of trades (rebobinnage of the transformers, domestic electricity, maintenance of appliances,….).

 


During the year 2017 (September 28th), Action Sociale Kesho Kongo hosted a delegation from the US Embassy in the DRC, for a day of awareness raising on scholarship opportunities for young people from 18 to 35 years. The sensitization involved 3 US government exchange programs namely Fulbright, Humphrey Fellowship Program and Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders. The delegation of the Embassy consisted of Mr Taylor Tinney (Cultural Affairs Officer at the US Embassy) and Mr Alain Chirwisa (Alumni Coordinator of US Government Exchange Programs at the US Embassy in Kinshasa). There was a participation of about 70 young people from the city of Bukavu. A press briefing was held on Bukavu radio stations (Radio Okapi, Radio Maendeleo and Radio universitaire de l'ISDR/Bukavu).

 

Above: Presentation by Mr Taylor Tinney (Cultural Affairs Officer at the US Embassy in the DRC)

Nous sommes engagés dans la recherche de la paix, la démocratie et les droits de l’homme par la culture (théâtre, poésie, musique et danses traditionnelles) et à travers notre émission hebdomadaire « le Ballet Kesho Kongo vous parle ». Théâtre pour la paix : voir cette émission réalisée à Honolulu (Hawaï, USA):

 

Ci-dessous : séance de Reproduction de la pièce « Roi Lion » (dessin animé adapté par le Ballet Kesho Kongo). Leçon transmise à la population: toujours prendre la vie du bon côté (invitation de notre peuple à la résilience). Les fonds collectés ont été injectés dans notre projet de lutte contre la malnutrition des enfants au Sud-Kivu

 

Forum d’éducation civique et électorale en faveur des jeunes, implémenté par Kesho Kongo et financé par Counterpart International en collaboration avec USAID et UKAID (24 janvier 2018 à Ciriri). 114 participants.

Ci-dessus : Participants au forum.
Formateur : Pius Bikungu de la Commission Electorale Nationale Indépendante/Sud-Kivu.

 

Ci-dessous : animateurs du forum.
Modérateur : Samson Rutakangwa, Coordonnateur de l’Action Sociale Kesho Kongo.

 

 

Nous accompagnons aussi 7 écoles primaires dans les villages oubliés de : Lugala, Ikumbana, Kagabi, Ibere, Bwirembe, Cirhodu et Bushushu.


Ci-dessus : Ecole primaire Mubeshe à Lugala, 60 écoliers, 4 salles de classe et 4 enseignantes et 1 directeur. Cette école nécessite d’être construite dignement.

 

De même, nous accompagnons depuis septembre 2017, 30 jeunes (19 garçons et 11 filles) en formation professionnelle dans le cadre d’apprentissage des métiers (rebobinnage des transformateurs, électricité domestique, maintenance des appareils électro-ménagers,...)

 

Au cours de l’année 2017 (28 septembre), l’Action Sociale Kesho Kongo a accueilli une délégation de l'Ambassade des Etats-Unis en RDC, pour une journée de sensibilisation sur les opportunités de bourses pour les jeunes de 18 à 35 ans. La sensibilisation concernait 3 programmes d'échanges du Gouvernement Américain à savoir Fulbright, Humphrey Fellowship Program et Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders. La délégation de l'Ambassade était constituée de Mr Taylor Tinney (chargé des affaires culturelles à l'Ambassade des USA) et Mr Alain Chirwisa (Coordinateur des Alumni des programmes d'échange du Gouvernement Américain à l'Ambassade des USA en RDC). Il y avait une participation de 70 jeunes de la ville de Bukavu. Un point de presse est passé dans les radios de Bukavu à ce sujet (Radio Okapi, Radio Maendeleo et Radio universitaire de l'ISDR/Bukavu).

 

Ci-dessus : exposé de Mr Taylor Tinney (chargé des affaires culturelles à l'Ambassade des USA en RDC)